What you should know about stainless steel alloy

Austenitic stainless steel is a specific type of steel alloy typically in use for stainless applications. Stainless steels are organized in four main categories by their crystalline structure: austenitic, ferritic, martensitic and duplex. Austenitic steels are hardenable by cold treatment and are mostly non-magnetic. Today, we are breaking down the basics of what you should know about the 300 series of austenitic stainless steel and what they are.

The main features of the austenitic alloys are:

  • Hardenable by Cold Working
  • Medium to high strength
  • Non-Magnetic
  • High resistance to corrosion
  • Contains nickel

The primary crystalline structure of these stainless steels is austenite. The two subgroups of austenitic stainless steel are the 200 and the 300 series. 300 series stainless steels have nickel added and the 200 series stainless steels substitute large amounts of manganese and nitrogen for nickel, but still contain some nickel.

300 series stainless steels are the largest of the subgroups. 304 is the most popular type of all stainless steel. You can find 304 alloy in cookware, cutlery, and kitchen equipment. The next most widely used is Type 316. Type 316, also contain some molybdenum which is designed to aid in resisting acids and blocks pitting and crevice corrosion.

Refer to the chart below for visual guide to the 300 series of austenitic stainless steel products.

Stainless Steel 300 Series
Infographic on 300 Series Stainless Steel from thyssenkrupp Copper and Brass Sales

You can learn more about what thyssenkrupp Copper and Brass Sales has to offer in the 300 series and all stainless steel products by downloading our stainless steel product catalog.

Contact us today for more information or to place an order!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: